My own little Breakfast Club

Ralph Waldo Emerson once said, “I didn’t find my friends; the good lord gave them to me.”

I remember the days when I used to look at the popular girls, envious of the crowd of friends that always s13388768_10206997662881915_1521236372_oeemed to surround them. However, as I grew older I learned that it wasn’t the quantity of friendships that mattered, but the quality, and each night when I go to bed, I thank God for the beautiful friendships he has sent into my life. I truly believe, with all my heart, that God sent me my 7 best friends. We didn’t randomly cross paths, it was fate, and it was all in God’s plan. Each and every one of them has bought so much beauty and happiness into my life.

I’ve always wanted my life to be like an 80’s movie. No. I don’t have John Cusack holding a boom box outside my window. I’ve never ridden off into the sunset on the back of Patrick Dempsey’s lawnmower, and I don’t expect Matthew Broderick to come busting me out of work any day soon. However, I have my group, my Breakfast club, and I can’t image life without them.

 

My Breakfast Club:

  • The Explorer: We met when we were still learning how to tie our shoes, and the saying opposites attract couldn’t be more fitting. I was a shy little girl, who always wore dresses with matching bows. She on the other hand, would have preferred to be running around naked. Over the past nineteen years, I’ve watched as she has transformed into a leader- in every aspect of the word. She has this yearning to explore the world and makes an impact with every step she takes. The Explorer inspires me to see the world and follow my passions.

 

  • The Bookworm: Intelligence doesn’t even begin to describe it, and when we met in fourth grade, I could tell this girl was going places. When we were young, she was a girl of few words, but everything she said was meaningful and had a purpose. I on the other hand could talk to a wall for an hour. She’s one the smartest people I know, yet the first one to act stupid with me. *ikatie…cough, cough* She has this way of always knowing the right thing to say, and putting others before herself.

 

  • The Partner in Crime: Most definitely one of the coolest people I know. We started out as first graders who wore Bermuda shorts, fanny packs, and visors…. and I think it’s safe to say that while our friendship has grown, so has our fashion sense. 😉 This women is literally always there for me. We have one of those friendships, where we can call each other up at 12 a.m., to gush about the amazing date we just had. From OneDirection concerts {when we melted over Harry Styles with thousands of pre-teens} to sleepover’s that resulted in rom-coms and way too much junk food- life with her is never dull.

 

  • The Thing One and Thing Two: I’m pairing these two together, not because they don’t deserve their own bullet, but because we are three peas in a pod. I can still remember the exact moment I met thing one and thing two. My parents had just left me on a college campus where I felt like an outsider, my anxiety was through the roof, and I didn’t have a single friend. Little did I know, that God would have me cross paths with this group of girls that would help me though some of my darkest days. They are my best friends, my sisters in Christ. The three of us are so different, yet when we are together our friendship is effortless. College would not be the same without them.

 

  • The Fashionista: My little fashionista, my mini-me, my best friend. The Fashionista can go to a thrift store and walk out with the most incredible outfit. Since we met in Biology class sophomore year, she has become my Anna Wintour, my go to fashion expert. What I love most about The Fashionista, is her ability to love open heartedly. From piggyback pictures, sleepovers, study-dates, GNO’s, and getting free 7-11 hot chocolate at midnight, since the day we met, life has been full of laughter.

 

  • The Teacher: I don’t even know where to begin. This lady has a heart of pure gold. I only wish we would have met earlier in life. When you met her, you can’t help but fall in love with her silly laugh, constant optimism, and pure love for the Lord. She is easily one of the best listeners, values trust, and is one great concert buddy. She is such a beautiful person inside and out, yet she is always working to better herself and the world around her. She is amazing, and I hope she always remembers that.

 

Like Ralph said, “I didn’t find my friends, the good Lord gave them to me,” and I couldn’t be more thankful. Love you all.


Disclaimer: Dear Friends: if you were not described above, I still cherish our friendship and love you…. Just like Molly Rigwalls acting career, the blog post had to end sooner or later.

One thought on “My own little Breakfast Club

Leave a Reply

