My Tinderella Tale

Once upon a time, in a land far, far away, there lived a beautiful twenty-one-year-old princess named Tinderella… just kidding. This isn’t that kind of tale.

A few months ago, I sat on the couch watching Rom-Coms while eating Mexican food and throwing a pity party over my (what seemed like) “permanent single status.” It was at this point that my mother decided to take action. My mother decided to suggest I get a Tinder. As I began to explain the connotation behind Tinder, this suggestion became funnier and funnier. However, she stood by her original statement.

She claimed: “Bailey, tons of people meet their significant others on online dating sites. Get a Christian Mingle, get a Tinder, get something.”

I figured, what’s there to lose? (Other than my dignity.) So, I downloaded a new app. An app called Tinder.

My Tinderella days were s13230313_10206868005960573_5663576985306253031_nhort lived as I soon realized that I was looking for a prince in a sea of frogs. Now I am not saying, in any way, fashion, or form, that there aren’t good people on Tinder. I know for a fact that there are. However, as the saying goes, “you have to kiss a lot of frogs to find your prince.” Sadly many of these frogs wanted to do a whole lot more than kissing, and well…I’m just not that kind of girl. 😉

I received inappropriate pick up line after pick up line, and I talked to guys who I thought were the “good ones” only to be proven wrong.  Then, it dawned on me. What did I expect? All of my life I had been taught to “not judge a book by its cover,” but that’s exactly what I was doing. I was swiping right or swiping left based on how attractive a guy’s profile photo was. How did I expect to find someone who wanted to get to know me, not my bra size, if we were judging each other solely off of a bio and a few profile photos? What if the good guys (The ones who would make me laugh, take me to the movies, and would still think I looked beautiful in a t-shirt with no makeup) were the ones I swiped left to?

It was then that I realized the glass slipper was a few sizes too small. I kicked off the heels, deleted the app and made a big sign that now hangs on my wall:

“You don’t need a significant other to lead a significant life. To BE significant.”

I’ve always been embarrassed by my “single status.” However, since leaving the Tinder world behind I’ve been focusing on bettering myself, growing closing to my family, friends, and God. I think that’s why I’ve been so happy these past few months. I’m not looking for someone to complete me. There isn’t some void I’m trying to fill. I’m happy.

I’ve realized that it’s all in God’s plan, and as for me, I’m going to put away the dating apps and live life. If I find my prince, he will be in God’s time not on my Tinder notifications.

One thought on “My Tinderella Tale

Leave a Reply

