The fairy tales lied.

14915306_10208095841735700_8865374274425372872_n

If we rewound and asked elementary school Bailey to define “True Love” her definition would have been filled with glass slippers, love at first sight and prince charming. However, the fairy tales lied.

True loves is not about magical dresses or glass slippers. True love is not about a kiss that awakens you from a deep slumber. True love is not about turning a frog into a prince or giving up your fins to be with the one you love.

True love is so much more than the fairy tales lead on.

Corinthians 13:4-8 reads, “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always preserves. Love never fails…”

In 2016, I met the man of my dreams. A man who is patient and kind. A man who “always protects, always trusts, always hopes and always preserves.”

If you ask present day Bailey to define “True Love,” I would say this:

True love happens when you least expect it. (I know clique… I used to always roll my eyes when15241264_10208320026740185_1608716628914585261_n I heard it, but it’s true). It’s when months pass, the butterflies are still fluttering, the fireworks still booming, all while your love continues to grow. True love is being each other’s best friend; being their through the ups and the downs, always ready to catch each other when you stumble. True love is dancing when there is no music playing, or making your own music. True love is that smile that spreads across your face when you hear their name or that excitement you feel when they call. It’s finding that person who makes even the worst of days better. It is about loving each other’s quirks and flaws. True love is the romantic gestures, the surprise hot chocolate, the love notes, handmade gifts and simply being happiest when you’re together.

The fairy tales where wrong all along. My true love didn’t come “save me” from distress. He loves me for who I am. He brings out the best in me and makes me strive to be a better person daily. He challenges me, inspires me, encourages me, and supports me. He’s strengthens my relationship with God and continues to encourage its growth.

The fair tales may have lied. True love may not be about magical dresses or fair god mothers. However, it is beautiful. It is wonderful. It is magical and “all my wishes came true the day I met you.”

Leave a Reply

